Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Illinois


Illinois became the 21st state on December 3, 1818. Springfield is the state capital. There are currently 102 counties each with a courthouse.



Click on a county below to learn more:

Adams Alexander  Bond  Boone Brown 
Bureau  Calhoun  Carroll  Cass Champaign 
Christian  Clark  Clay  Clinton  Coles
Cook Crawford Cumberland  DeKalb  DeWitt
Douglas DuPage  Edgar  Edwards Effingham 
Fayette Ford  Franklin Fulton Gallatin 
Greene  Grundy Hamilton  Hancock Hardin
Henderson  Henry Iroquois Jackson  Jasper
Jefferson  Jersey Jo Daviess Johnson  Kane
Kankakee Kendall  Knox  Lake La Salle
Lawrence  Lee  Livingston Logan Macon 
Macoupin Madison  Marion  Marshall Mason 
Massac  McDonough McHenry  McLean Menard
Mercer Monroe Montgomery Morgan  Moultrie
Ogle  Peoria  Perry Piatt  Pike
Pope  Pulaski Putnam Randolph  Richland 
Rock Island  St Clair  Saline  Sangamon  Schuyler
Scott Shelby Stark  Stephenson Tazewell 
Union  Vermilion  Wabash  Warren  Washington 
Wayne White  Whiteside  Will  Williamson 
Winnebago  Woodford       

Illinois Supreme Court


Illinois Appellate Court – Chicago – First District

Illinois Appellate Court – Elgin – Second District

Illinois Appellate Court – Mount Vernon – Fifth District

Illinois Appellate Court – Ottawa – Third District

Illinois Appellate Court – Springfield – Fourth District


Highest Point – Charles Mound ( 1,235 feet ) is located in Jo Daviess County 

Lowest Point  – Mississippi River ( 279 feet ) is located in Alexander County


Oldest Courthouse still in use – Putnam County (1837-1839)

Oldest Former Courthouse – St. Clair County (Cahokia-1740)



State Capitol – Springfield



Governor Mansion – Springfield