Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Illinois » Bond County

Bond County

Bond County is named for Shadrach Bond, who was the first Governor of the State of Illinois.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Montgomery County

E – Fayette County

S – Clinton County

W – Madison County

Created:  January 4, 1817                                                          Map of Illinois highlighting Bond County

County Seat:

Hills Station   1817

Perryville       1817 – 1821

Greenville      1821 – present


County Courthouse – Greenville


Location:  200 West College Avenue / South 2nd Street

Built:  1884 – 1885

Style:  Federal

Architect:  W R Parsons

Contractor:  Lewman & Goodell of Greencastle, Indiana


Description: The building faces north and is a two story red colored brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Greenville. The north and south entrances extend from the main building with the doorway recessed with two narrow wooden columns supporting the header on the first story, and three arched windows on the second story. The windows in the building are arched. The center section of the building extends east and west with a lower roof line. The base is rough white colored stone. The tower was removed in 1948. 


See:  The 3rd Judicial District includes Madison County.


History:  The county was created in 1817 and Hills Station was selected as the county seat. The county seat was moved to Perryville in 1818 and then to Greenville in 1821. The first courthouse was erected on Greenville Square in 1823 at a cost of $2,135. The second courthouse was built in 1833 and the third courthouse in 1854 at a cost of $12,000. The courthouse was destroyed by fire on March 24, 1883. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1884 to 1885 at a cost of $20,000.



County Courthouse – Greenville





Photos taken 2007