Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Illinois » White County

White County

White County is named for Leonard White, who was a member of the Constitutional Convention of 1818.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Wayne CountyEdwards County and Wabash County

E – Posey County, Indiana 

S – Gallatin County

W – Hamilton County


Created:  December 9, 1815                                                      Map of Illinois highlighting White County

County Seat:

Carmi  1815 – present


County Courthouse – Carmi


Location:  301 East Main Street / North Main Cross Street

Built:  1883 – 1884

Style:  Second Empire

Architect:  Clark & Pyne

Contractor:  A Hollenbach


Description: The building faces south and is a three story red colored brick structure.  The building is located in the center of Carmi. The building incorporates the second courthouse built in 1828 which was enlarged incorporating the original structure and adding offices. On the east side the roof rises to a peak with white colored gables and a band containing the date of the county establishment and date of the building. In the center of the south side is the recessed doorway with white colored stone across the header and on either side of the entrance. The roof is hipped. The courtroom is located on the second story. The builoding houses the County Circuit Court of the 2nd Judicial Circuit.


Note:  The courthouse was expanded to 40 feet by 85 feet. James Robert (“Dollar Bob”) Williams oversaw the renovation construction of the courthouse while serving as County Judge from 1882-1886. The courthouse originally had a tower which was removed after being damaged in a storm about 1920.


Old County Courthouse – Carmi


Location:  110  South Main Cross Street / Robinson Street

Built:  188144

Style:  Colonial

Architect:  John Craw

Contractor:  John Craw


Description: The building faces northeast and is a one story white colored wood frame structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Carmi. The northeast front has a central one story white colored wood portico. On the south is a lower section. The roof is hipped. Known as the Robinson-Stewart House and served as the first courthouse from 1815 to 1828. 


See:  The 2nd Judicial Circuit includes Crawford County, Edwards CountyFranklin County, Gallatin CountyHamilton County, Hardin County, Jefferson CountyLawrence County, Richland County, Wabash County and Wayne County.


History:  The county was created in 1815 and Carmi was selected as the county seat in 1815. The first courthouse was a log residence built by John Craw in 1814 which is still standing. The second courthouse was constructed by Allen Randolph in 1828 at a cost of $3,000. The third and present courthouse was a expansion of the previous courthouse constructed in 1883 to 1884 at a cost of $12,000.



County Courthouse – Carmi

















Photos taken 2007 and 2012