Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Kansas


Kansas became the 34th state on January 29, 1861. Topeka is the state capital. There are currently has 105 counties each with a courthouse.



Click on a county below to learn more:

Allen  Anderson Atchison  Barber  Barton 
Bourbon Brown  Butler Chase  Chautauqua 
Cherokee Cheyenne Clark Clay  Cloud 
Coffey  Comanche Cowley Crawford Decatur
Dickinson Doniphan Douglas Edwards  Elk
Ellis  Ellsworth Finney  Ford Franklin 
Geary Gove Graham Grant Gray 
Greeley  Greenwood  Hamilton  Harper Harvey 
Haskell Hodgeman  Jackson  Jefferson Jewell 
Johnson  Kearny  Kingman Kiowa Labette
Lane Leavenworth Lincoln Linn  Logan 
Lyon Marion  Marshall  McPherson  Meade 
Miami  Mitchell Montgomery  Morris Morton
Nemaha  Neosho  Ness Norton  Osage 
Osborne  Ottawa  Pawnee  Phillips Pottawatomie
Pratt  Rawlins  Reno  Republic Rice
Riley Rooks Rush  Russell  Saline
Scott Sedgwick Seward Shawnee Sheridan
Sherman Smith  Stafford Stanton Stevens
Sumner  Thomas  Trego  Wabaunsee Wallace
Washington Wichita Wilson  Woodson Wyandotte

Kansas Supreme Court / Court of Appeal


Highest Point – Mount Sunflower ( 4,039 feet ) is located in Wallace County

Lowest Point  – Verdigris River ( 680 feet ) is located in Montgomery County


Oldest Courthouse still in use – Chase County (1873)

Oldest Former Courthouse – McPherson County (Lindsborg – 1869)



State Capital – Topeka



Governor Mansion – Topeka