Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Kentucky


Kentucky became the 15th state on June 1, 1792. Frankfort is the state capital. There are currently 120 counties each with a courthouse.



Click on a county below to learn more:

Adair Allen  Anderson Ballard Barren
Bath  Bell  Boone  Bourbon Boyd 
Boyle  Bracken Breathitt  Breckinridge  Bullitt
Butler Caldwell  Calloway Campbell Carlisle
Carroll  Carter Casey Christian Clark
Clay  Clinton  Crittenden Cumberland  Daviess 
Edmonson Elliott Estill  Fayette Fleming
Floyd Franklin Fulton  Gallatin Garrard
Grant  Graves Grayson  Green Greenup
Hancock  Hardin Harlan  Harrison Hart 
Henderson Henry  Hickman Hopkins  Jackson
Jefferson  Jessamine Johnson Kenton Knott 
Knox Larue Laurel Lawrence  Lee
Leslie  Letcher Lewis Lincoln  Livingston
Logan Lyon Madison Magoffin  Marion 
Marshall Martin  Mason McCracken McCreary 
McLean  Meade Menifee  Mercer Metcalfe
Monroe Montgomery Morgan Muhlenberg Nelson
Nicholas  Ohio Oldham Owen Owsley 
Pendleton  Perry Pike Powell Pulaski 
Robertson Rockcastle Rowan  Russell Scott
Shelby Simpson Spencer  Taylor  Todd 
Trigg Trimble Union  Warren Washington
Wayne Webster Whitley Wolfe Woodford 

Kentucky Supreme Court

Kentucky Court of Appeals


Louisville  ( Codell Construction Company of Winchester / Falls City Construction Company / H P McDonald and Brothers / M T Lewman and Company )


Highest Point – Black Mountain ( 4,145 feet ) is located in Harlan County 

Lowest Point  – Mississippi River ( 250 feet ) is located in Fulton County


Oldest Courthouse still in use – Washington County (1814-1816)

Oldest Former Courthouse – Green County (1802 – 1803)



State Capitol – Frankfort



Governor Mansion – Frankfort