Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Mississippi


Mississippi became the 20th state on December 10, 1817. Jackson is the state capital. There are currently 82 counties each with a courthouse.



Click on a county below to learn more:

Adams  Alcorn Amite  Attala Benton
Bolivar Calhoun Carroll  Chickasaw  Choctaw 
Claiborne  Clarke  Clay Coahoma Copiah 
Covington DeSoto Forrest Franklin George 
Greene Grenada Hancock Harrison  Hinds
Holmes Humphreys Issaquena  Itawamba  Jackson
Jasper Jefferson  Jefferson Davis Jones Kemper
Lafayette Lamar Lauderdale  Lawrence  Leake
Lee  Leflore Lincoln Lowndes Madison
Marion Marshall Monroe  Montgomery Neshoba
Newton  Noxubee Okitibbeha  Panola  Pearl River
Perry  Pike Pontotoc  Prentiss Quitman
Rankin  Scott  Sharkey  Simpson Smith 
Stone Sunflower Tallahatchie Tate  Tippah
Tishomingo Tunica  Union Walthall Warren 
Washington  Wayne Webster Wilkinson Winston
Yalobusha  Yazoo      

Mississippi Supreme Court and Court of Appeals


Highest Point – Woodall Mountain ( 806 feet ) is located in Tishomingo County

Lowest Point  – Gulf of Mexico ( sea level )

Oldest Courthouse – Adams County (1821)



State Capitol – Jackson


Old State Capitol – Jackson


Governor Mansion – Jackson