Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Missouri


Missouri became the 24th state on August 10, 1821. Jefferson City is the state capital. There are currently 114 counties plus St. Louis City each with a courthouse.



Click on a county below to learn more:

Adair Andrew  Atchison  Audrain  Barry
Barton  Bates Benton  Bollinger Boone
Buchanan  Butler Caldwell  Callaway Camden 
Cape Giradeau  Carroll  Carter Cass Cedar
Chariton Christian  Clark  Clay  Clinton 
Cole  Cooper Crawford Dade  Dallas 
Daviess DeKalb Dent  Douglas Dunklin
Franklin Gasconade Gentry Greene Grundy
Harrison Henry Hickory  Holt Howard
Howell Iron  Jackson Jasper Jefferson
Johnson Knox  Laclede  Lafayette Lawrence
Lewis  Lincoln Linn  Livingston Macon
Madison Maries Marion McDonald Mercer
Miller Mississippi Moniteau Monroe  Montgomery
Morgan New Madrid Newton Nodaway Oregon 
Osage  Ozark Pemiscot  Perry  Pettis 
Phelps  Pike Platte  Polk  Pulaski 
Putnam  Ralls Randolph  Ray Reynolds
Ripley Saline  Schuyler Scotland Scott 
Shannon  Shelby St. Charles  St. Clair St. Francois
St. Louis City  St. Louis Ste. Genevieve Stoddard  Stone 
Sullivan  Taney Texas Vernon  Warren 
Washington Wayne Webster  Worth  Wright


Missouri Supreme Court


Missouri Court of Appeals – Eastern District – St. Louis

Missouri Court of Appeals – Southern District – Springfield

Missouri Court of Appeals – Western District – Kansas City


Highest Point – Taum Sauk Mountain ( 1,772 feet ) is located in Iron County

Lowest Point – St. Francis River ( 230 feet ) is located in Dunklin County


Oldest Courthouse – Lafayette County (1849)

Oldest Former Courthouse – St. Louis City (1839)



State Capitol – Jefferson City


Governor Mansion – Jefferson City