Skip to content
Home » US States » N » North Carolina

North Carolina

North Carolina became the 12th state on November 21, 1789. Raleigh is the state capital. There are currently 100 counties each with a courthouse.



Click on a county below to learn more:

Alamance Alexander  Alleghany Anson  Ashe 
Avery Beaufort Bertie Bladen  Brunswick 
Buncombe  Burke Cabarrus  Caldwell  Camden
Carteret  Caswell  Catawba  Chatham Cherokee 
Chowan Clay Cleveland  Columbus Craven 
Cumberland  Currituck Dare  Davidson  Davie
Duplin Durham  Edgecombe Forsyth Franklin 
Gaston  Gates Graham Granville Greene 
Guilford  Halifax  Harnett  Haywood  Henderson
Hertford  Hoke Hyde Iredell  Jackson
Johnston  Jones  Lee Lenoir Lincoln
Macon Madison Martin McDowell Mecklenburg 
Mitchell Montgomery Moore Nash New Hanover
Northampton Onslow Orange  Pamlico Pasquotank 
Pender  Perquimans  Person  Pitt Polk 
Randolph  Richmond Robeson  Rockingham Rowan
Rutherford Sampson Scotland  Stanly  Stokes
Surry  Swain Transylvania  Tyrrell Union
Vance  Wake  Warren Washington  Watauga
Wayne  Wilkes Wilson  Yadkin  Yancey

North Carolina Supreme Court

North Carolina Court of Appeals


Highest Point – Mount Mitchell ( 6,684 feet ) is located in Yancey County 

Lowest Point – Atlantic Ocean ( sea level ) 


Oldest Courthouse still in use – Perquimans County (1825)

Oldest Former Courthouse – Chowan County (1767)



State House – Raleigh


Legislature – Raleigh


Governor Mansion – Raleigh