Skip to content
Home » US States » N » North Dakota

North Dakota

North Dakota became the 39th state on November 2, 1889. Bismarck is the state capital. There are currently 53 counties each with a courthouse.



Click on a county below to learn more:

Adams Barnes  Benson Billings Bottineau 
Bowman Burke  Burleigh Cass  Cavalier
Dickey Divide  Dunn  Eddy  Emmons 
Foster Golden Valley Grand Forks Grant  Griggs
Hettinger Kidder LaMoure  Logan McHenry
McIntosh  McKenzie  McLean  Mercer Morton 
Mountrail  Nelson  Oliver  Pembina Pierce 
Ramsey  Ransom  Renville  Richland Rolette
Sargent  Sheridan  Sioux Slope Stark 
Steele  Stutsman Towner Traill  Walsh 
Ward Wells  Williams     

North Dakota Supreme Court


Highest Point – White Butte ( 3,506 feet ) is located in Slope County

Lowest Point  – Red River of the North ( 750 feet ) is located in Pembina County


Oldest Courthouse still in use – Kidder County (1884)

Oldest Former Courthouse – Stutsman County (1883)


State Capitol – Bismarck


Governor Mansion – Bismarck


Former Governor Mansion (demolished 2016) – Bismarck


Old Governor Mansion – Bismarck