Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Ohio » Miami County

Miami County

Miami County is named for the Miami Native American People.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Shelby County

E – Champaign County and Clark County 

S – Montgomery County

W – Darke County


Created:  March 1, 1807                         Map of Ohio highlighting Miami County

County Seat:

Troy  1807 – present


County Courthouse – Troy 


Location:  215 West Main Street / North Short Street

Built:  1884 – 1888

Style:  Beaux Arts

Architect:  Joseph Warren Yost of Cleveland

Contractor:  T B Townsend of Zanesville and Rankin, Kellogg and Crane


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story buff colored sandstone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds with fountain. The south front has a porch on the first story with four thin columns rising to a balcony at the second story. Above is a pediment at the roof line. A flight of stairs runs to the main entrance. Each corner has a square tower with white colored dome. On the center of the roof is a circular dome with clock and white colored roof with copper statue of Lady Justice at the top. The interior has frescoed plaster ceilings and arches ornamented with representations of local agricultural produce, marble wainscoting, and mosaic tile along with brilliant wood work. The courtroom is located on the second story.  The building houses the County Court of Common Pleas – General, Juvenile and Probate Divisions.


Note:  Statues on the roof of the courthouse are not just decorative; they are symbols that represent life in Miami County: justice in the county court, agriculture, education, industry and transportation. They have sometimes been referred to as “seven allegorical figures.” The statues were made by the W H Mullins Company of Salem, Ohio. William Harold Mullins, the company founder, is remembered as an “iron monger” (an individual known for his skill working with iron.


See: The architect, Joseph Warren Yost of Cleveland, designed courthouses in Belmont County, Guernsey County, Harrison County, Holmes CountyPerry County, Wood County and Wyandot County.


See:  Ohio Court of Appeals – Dayton ( 2nd Appellate District )


History:  The county was created in 1807 and Troy was selected as the county seat. The first court met at the home of Peter Felix in Staunton and the first courthouse was a log building built in 1811. The second courthouse was a brick structure built by William Burbee and Fielding Young at a cost of $2475. The third courthouse was constructed by A E Turnbull at a cost of $20,000. The dome of the present courthouse was patterned after the United States Capitol in Washington, DC.


County Safety Building – Troy 



Location:  201 West Main Street / North Short Street

Built:  1970 – 1972

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Hart-Ruetschle-Hart

Contractor:  Knowlton Construction Company


Description:  The building faces west and is a three story brown colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds with the courthouse on the west side of the Courthouse Plaza. The west front has a high concrete portico supported by six concrete pillars rising to an extended third story, The building has vertical concrete pilasters with vertical windows on the first and second stories and horizontal windows on the third story. The roof line is flat. The building houses the Juvenile Court. 


County Courthouse – Troy

































County Safety Building – Troy







Photos taken 2011 and 2018