Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Pennsylvania » Juniata County

Juniata County

Juniata County is named for the Juniata River which was named for the Iroquoian word “Onavutta” meaning “Standing Stone”.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Mifflin County and Snyder County

E – Northumberland County and Dauphin County

S – Perry County and Franklin County

W – Huntingdon County and Mifflin County


Created:  March 21, 1831                       Map of Pennsylvania highlighting Juniata County

County Seat:

Mifflintown  1831 – present


County Courthouse – Mifflintown  


Location:  Main Street / Washington Street

Built:  1873 – 1875

Style:  Georgian Revival

Architect:  L M Simon of Harrisburg

Contractor:  Hetrich and Fleisher of Newport


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story red colored brick structure. The building sits on landscaped grounds on the side of a hill in the center of Mifflintown. The west front has a large portico with thee arches on the first story and four white colored columns rising from a balcony on the second story to a pediment at the roof line. On the second story are large arched windows with balcony and smaller arched windows around the building. Behind the pediment is a high white colored wood cupola with clock, open octagonal section and gold colored dome at the top. The large County Court of Common Pleas courtroom is located on the second story. 


History:  The county was created in 1831 and Mifflintown was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was designed by Thomas McCiurdy and built in 1833.


County Courthouse – Mifflintown




















County Court of Common Pleas courtroom











Photos taken 2011 and 2015