Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » South Carolina » Kershaw County

Kershaw County

Kershaw County is named for Joseph Kershaw, who was a South Carolina state legislator.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Lancaster County

E – Chesterfield County

S – Lee CountySumter County and Richland County

W – Richland County and Fairfield County


Created:  1798                                        Map of South Carolina highlighting Kershaw County

County Seat: 

Camden  1801 – present


County Courthouse – Camden  


Location:  1121 North Broad Street / Walnut Street

Built: 1966 – 1967

Style: Modern

Architect:  Ralph Little and Clark, McCall and Leach of Hartsville

Contractor:  C B Askins and Company of Lake City


Description: The building faces east and is a two story dark red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Camden. Vertical white colored pillars divide the brick facing around the building which has a large overhang at the roof line. The east entrance has a divided doorway with centre panel and glass above the doorways. The base is white colored concrete. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 5th Judicial Circuit. To the northeast is the County Administration Building.


See:  The 5th Judicial Circuit includes Richland County 


Old County Courthouse – Camden  



Location: 607 South Broad Street / King Street

Built: 1826 – 1827

Style: Greek Revival

Architect:  Robert Mills of Charleston

Contractor: Unknown


Description: The building faces east and  is a two story white colored brick and stucco structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Camden. The building has a large porch supported by four large columns rising to a wide pediment at the roof. Central steps ascend to the second story where the large courtroom is located. The roof is hipped. The building served as the courthouse until 1906.


See:  The architect William August Edwards designed other courthouses in Abbeville CountyCalhoun County,  Darlington County (former), Dillon CountyJasper County, Lee County, Sumter County and York County.


History:  The first courthouse was built in 1926 to 1927. The second courthouse was designed by Edwards & Walter and constructed by T C Thompson Brothers in 1906. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1966 to 1967.



County Courthouse – Camden

















County Courthouse History



Picture 1906 County Courthouse



County Administration Building – Camden



Old County Courthouse – Camden



















Former courtroom











Photos taken 2008 ans 2020