Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » South Dakota

South Dakota

South Dakota became the 40th state on November 2, 1889. Pierre is the state capital. There are currently 66 counties each with a courthouse except Shannon County and Todd County.



Click on a county below to learn more:

Aurora Beadle Bennett  Bon Homme  Brookings 
Brown  Brule  Buffalo  Butte Campbell 
Charles Mix  Clark  Clay Codington Corson 
Custer  Davison Day Deuel Dewey
Douglas  Edmunds Fall River  Faulk Grant 
Gregory Haakon  Hamlin  Hand  Hanson 
Harding  Hughes Hutchinson  Hyde Jackson 
Jerauld  Jones  Kingsbury Lake  Lawrence
Lincoln  Lyman  Marshall McCook McPherson
Meade  Mellette Miner Minnehaha Moody
Pennington  Perkins  Potter  Roberts  Sanborn
Spink  Stanley  Sully Tripp Turner 
Union  Walworth Yankton Ziebach   

South Dakota Supreme Court


Oglala Lakota County ( Shannon County ) uses the courthouse in Fall River County

Todd County uses the courthouse in Tripp County 


Highest Point – Black Elk Peak ( 7,231 feet ) is located in Pennington County

Lowest Point  – Big Stone Lake ( 962 feet ) is located in Roberts County


Oldest Courthouse still in use – Fall River County (1891-1892)

Oldest Former Courthouse – Custer County (1880-1881) and Minnehaha County (1889-1893)


State Capitol – Pierre


Governor Mansion – Pierre