Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Texas » Bosque County

Bosque County

Bosque County is named for the Bosque River which was named by the Spanish meaning “woods”.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Erath County and Somervell County

E – Johnson County and Hill County

S – McLennan County and Coryell County

W – Hamilton County


Created:  February 4, 1854                    Map of Texas highlighting Bosque County

County Seat: 

Meridian  1854 – present


County Courthouse – Meridian  


Location:  201 South Main Street / West Morgan Street

Built:  1885 – 1886

Style:  Renaissance  Revival

Architect:  J J Kane of Fort Worth

Contractor:  P J Loonie


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story native limestone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds of the Courthouse Square in the center of Meridian. The center section of the east front projects from the building and rises to a high square clock tower with steep roof. The north and south wings project from the main building. The entrances are on either side of the central section. The windows are arched. In the interior, the corridor from east to west and the walls are white colored plaster. The stairs are fabricated from cast iron manufactured by J E Bolles of Detroit, Michigan. The courtroom is located on the second story and has a stamped galvanized iron ceiling. The building houses the State District Court, Constitutional County Court, County Court at Law and Justice Court. The building was remodeled in 1935. The architect was Roy E Lane and the contractor was O K Johnson. The building was restored in 2003. The architect was ArchiTexas Architecture, Inc. and the contractor was Phoenix I Restoration and Construction, Ltd. The building was further restored in 2007. The architect was ArchiTexas Architecture, Inc. and the contractor was Harrison Williams Harper.


See:  National; Register of Historic Places – Bosque County Courthouse


History:  The county was created in 1854 and Meridian was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in 1854. The second courthouse was built in 1860 and was destroyed by fire in 1871. The third courthouse was a two story stone structure built in 1875. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1885 to 1886.



County Courthouses – Meridian





























Photos taken 2009 and 2014