Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Texas » Harrison County

Harrison County

Harrison County is named for Jonas Harrison, who was a lawyer and a Texas revolutionary.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Marion County

E – Caddo Parish, Louisiana

S – Panola County and Rusk County

W – Gregg County and Upshur County


Created:  January 28, 1839                    Map of Texas highlighting Harrison County

County Seat: 

Marshall  1839 – present


Old County Courthouse – Marshall  


Location:  Courthouse Square / East Houston Street

Built:  1900 – 1901

Style:  Renaissance Revival and Beaux Arts

Architect:  James Reily Gordon of San Antonio and C G Lancaster

Contractor:  Sonnefield & Emmis


Description:  The building faces east and is a three story yellow colored brick and stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Marshall to the east of the courthouse. The building has porticos on three sides with arches on the first story and four columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. There is a balustrade along the roof. On the center of the roof is a large octagonal dome with clocks, gold colored roof and lantern at the top. The courtroom is located on the east side of the second story.  Additions were constructed in 1925 and 1927. The architect was C D Lancaster. The building was renovated in 2008 to 2009. The contractor was RBR Construction Inc.



See:  The architect James Riely Gordon of San Antonio, Texas


County Courthouse – Marshall  



Location:  200 West Houston Street / Wellington Street

Built:  1963 – 1964

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Turnbull Inc.

Contractor:  A P Kasch & Sons


Description:  The building faces north and is a four story glass and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Marshall to the west of the old courthouse. The northeast entrance section projects from the main building. And has a glass wall on the north side. The north side is divided by vertical concrete dividers with glass walls between. The roof line is flat. The courtroom is located on the west side of the second story. The building houses the State District Court, Constitutional County Court, County Court at Law and County Justice Court. 


History:  The county was created in 1839 and Marshall was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a log structure built in 1839. The second courthouse was built in 1848. The third courthouse was an Italianate structure designed by Tozer & McQuirk and constructed in 1889. The courthouse was destroyed by fire in 1899. The fourth Courthouse was constructed at a cost of $62,000 in 1900. The fifth and present courthouse was constructed in 1964 at a cost of $1,200,000.



Old County Courthouse – Marshall



















































County Courthouse – Marshall

































Picture 1848 County Courthouse



Picture 1889 County Courthouse



Picture 1889 County Courthouse fire in 1899

Photos taken 2010, 2017 and 2019