Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Texas » Haskell County

Haskell County

Haskell County is named for Charles Haskell, who was killed in the Goliad Massacre.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Knox County

E – Throckmorton County

S – Shackelford County and Jones County

W – Stonewall County


Created:  February 1, 1858                    Map of Texas highlighting Haskell County

County Seat: 

Haskell  1885 – present


County Courthouse – Haskell  


Location:  1 North 2nd Street / South Avenue E

Built:  1890 – 1891

Style:  Italian Renaissance

Architect:  Jacob Larmour & A O Watson

Contractor:  Jacob Larmour & A O Watson


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story cream colored stone structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on the landscaped Courthouse Square in the center of Haskell. The center sections project with entrances on the first story. The east and west wings project from the main building. The third story windows are arched. A balustrade runs along the flat roof line. The courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the State District Court, Constitutional County Court and County Justice Court. The building was remodeled in 1906 and again in 1931 when the architect was Austin and The Butler Company and the contractor was Sampson Construction.


See:  The architect, A O Watson designed other courthouses in De Witt County, Llano County, Milam County and Val Verde County.


History:  The county was created in 1855 and Haskell was selected as the county seat in 1885 when the county was organized. The first courthouse was a two story frame structure built in 1885. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1890 to 1891.



County Courthouse – Haskell 























Photos taken 2014