Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Texas » Wilbarger County

Wilbarger County

Wilbarger County is named for Josiah Pugh Wilbarger and Mathias Wilbarger, who were brothers and early settlers.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Jackson County, Oklahoma and Tillman County, Oklahoma

E – Wichita County

S – Baylor County

W – Foard County and Hardeman County


Created:  February 1, 1858                    Map of Texas highlighting Wilbarger County

County Seat: 

Vernon  1881 – present


County Courthouse – Vernon


Location:  1700 Wilbarger Street / Main Street

Built:  1927 – 1928

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Voelcker & Dixon

Contractor:  R Reid and Costley of Wichita Falls.


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story limestone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of the city. The south and north sides of the building have three rectangular entrances on the first story and ten columns with recessed windows on the second and third stories. A balustrade runs along the flat roof line.


See:  The architect, Voelcker & Dixon designed other courthouses in Cottle County, Grayson County, Gregg County, Jack County, Knox County, Midland County, Rockwall County and Van Zandt County.


Note:  The first courthouse was built in 1883. The second courthouse was designed by James E Flanders and constructed by Strain, Riley & Swinburn 1n 1890. In 1915, the building was remodeled. The architect was L L Thurman & Company


County Courthouse – Vernon





























Picture 1890 County Courthouse

Photos taken 2014