Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Alabama


Alabama became the 22nd state on December 14, 1819. Montgomery is the state capital. There are currently 67 counties each with a courthouse.



Click on a county below to learn more:

Autauga Baldwin Barbour Bibb  Blount
Bullock Butler Calhoun  Chambers  Cherokee 
Chilton  Choctaw  Clarke Clay Cleburne  
Coffee  Colbert Conecuh  Coosa Covington 
Crenshaw Cullman  Dale  Dallas  DeKalb 
Elmore Escambia  Etowah Fayette Franklin 
Geneva  Greene Hale  Henry  Houston
Jackson  Jefferson Lamar Lauderdale Lawrence 
Lee  Limestone  Lowndes  Macon  Madison 
Marengo  Marion Marshall Mobile Monroe 
Montgomery Morgan Perry  Pickens  Pike
Randolph  Russell Saint Clair  Shelby Sumter
Talladega Tallapoosa Tuscaloosa  Walker  Washington
Wilcox Winston      


Alabama Supreme Court

Alabama Court of Appeal


Highest Point – Mount Cheaha ( 2,407 feet ) is located in Cleburne County

Lowest Point – Gulf of Mexico ( sea level ) in Baldwin County and Mobile County 


Oldest Courthouse still in use – Lowndes County (1849-1850)

Oldest Former Courthouse – Marion County (Pikeville – 1820) and Morgan County (Somerville – 1837)


State Capitol – Montgomery


State House ( Legislature ) – Montgomery


Governor Mansion – Montgomery