Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Arkansas


Arkansas became the 25th state on June 15, 1836. Little Rock is the state capital. There are currently 75 counties each with a courthouse.



Click on a county below to learn more:

Arkansas Ashley Baxter  Benton Boone 
Bradley Calhoun Carroll  Chicot  Clark 
Clay Cleburne Cleveland  Columbia  Conway
Craighead Crawford Crittenden Cross Dallas
Desha Drew Faulkner Franklin Fulton
Garland Grant Greene Hempstead Hot Spring
Howard Independence  Izard Jackson Jefferson 
Johnson  Lafayette  Lawrence Lee  Lincoln
Little River Logan Lonoke Madison Marion
Miller Mississippi Monroe Montgomery Nevada 
Newton  Ouachita Perry Phillips  Pike
Poinsett  Polk  Pope  Prairie Pulaski 
Randolph Saint Francis  Saline Scott Searcy
Sebastian  Sevier  Sharp Stone  Union 
Van Buren  Washington White  Woodruff  Yell 


Arkansas Supreme Court


Highest Point – Magazine Mountain ( 2,823 feet ) is located in Logan County

Lowest Point – Ouachita River ( 55 feet ) is located in Ashley County and Union County


Oldest Courthouses still in use – Jefferson County (1838) Crawford County (1842 ) 

Oldest Former Courthouse – Hempstead County (Washington – 1836)


State Capitol – Little Rock


Governor Mansion – Little Rock