Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Colorado » Costilla County

Costilla County

Costilla County is named for the Costilla River which is named for the Spanish word “Costilla” which means “little rib” or “furring timber”.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Huerfano County

E – Huerfano County and Las Animas County

S – Colfax County, New Mexico and Taos County, New Mexico

W – Conejos County and  Alamosa County


Created:  November 1, 1861                  Map of Colorado highlighting Costilla County

County Seat:

San Miguel  1861 – 1863

San Luis      1863 – present


County Courthouse – San Luis


Location:  304 Main Street / Gaspar Street

Built:  1883 – 1884

Style:  Classical

Architect:  John Farrington, Samuel Tucker and others

Contractor:  John Farrington, Samuel Tucker and others


Description: The building faces west and is a one story stone and stucco structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of San Luis. The west front has a recessed entrance in the center. At the center of the roof is a square wood cupola with green colored roof. The roof is sloped. The building houses the County District Court and County Court of the 12th Judicial District.  The building was renovated in 2008. The architect was Gifford Spurch and Associates and Albert Moore & Associates and the contractor was Crocker Limited and Upscale Builders, Inc.


Note:  In 1861, Costilla County was one of the 17 original counties.


See:  The 12th Judicial District includes Alamosa County, Conejos County, Mineral County, Rio Grande County and Saguache County.


History:  The county was created in 1861 and San Michael was selected as the county seat. The county seat was moved to San Luis in 1863. The county used rented premises. The first and present courthouse was constructed in 1883 to 1884.



County Courthouse – San Luis

















Photos taken 2011