Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Florida


Florida became the 27th state on March 3, 1845. Tallahassee is the state capital. There are currently 67 counties each with a courthouse.



Click on a county below to learn more:

Alachua Baker Bay  Bradford Brevard
Broward Calhoun  Charlotte  Citrus Clay
Collier Columbia DeSoto Dixie Duval 
Escambia Flagler Franklin  Gadsden Gilchrist
Glades Gulf  Hamilton Hardee  Hendry
Hernando  Highlands Hillsborough Holmes Indian River
Jackson Jefferson  Lafayette Lake  Lee
Leon  Levy  Liberty  Madison Manatee 
Marion  Martin  Miami-Dade Monroe Nassau
Okaloosa  Okeechobee  Orange  Osceola Palm Beach
Pasco Pinellas Polk  Putnam St Johns
St. Lucie Santa Rosa Sarasota Seminole  Sumter 
Suwannnee  Taylor Union Volusia Wakulla
 Walton Washington      

Florida Supreme Court


Court of Appeal Judicial Districts


District 1 – Tallahassee

District 2 – Lakeland / Tampa

District 3 – Miami

District 4 – West Palm Beach

District 5 – Daytona Beach


Highest Point – Britton Hill ( 345 feet ) is located in Walton County

Lowest Point  – Atlantic Ocean and Gulf of Mexico ( sea level )


Oldest Courthouse still in use – Osceola County (1890)

Oldest Former Courthouse – Manatee County (1860)



Old State Capitol – Tallahassee



State Capitol – Tallahassee



Governor Mansion – Tallahasssee