Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Florida » Gulf County

Gulf County

Gulf County is named for the Gulf of Mexico which lies along the southern boundary of the county.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

– Calhoun County

E – Liberty County and Franklin County

S – Franklin County and Gulf of Mexico

W – Gulf of Mexico and Bay County


Created:  June 6, 1925                           Map of Florida highlighting Gulf County

County Seat:

Wewahitchka    1925 – 1965

Port St Joe        1965 – present


County Courthouse – Port St Joe


Location:  1000 Cecil G Costin Sr. Boulevard / Library Drive

Built:  1966 – 1967

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Joseph L Donofro and Paul A Donofro

Contractor:  Ouin & Hunt


Description: The building faces north and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds to the north of the center of Port St Joe. The north front has a recessed entrance in the center with narrow vertical windows on either side. The second story is smaller and has small windows. At the top of the roof is a small cupola. In the interior, the County Circuit Court is located at the center of the second story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 14th Judicial Circuit and County Court. 


Old County Courthouse – Wewahitchka



Location:  222 North 2nd Street / Lake Avenue

Built:  1926 – 1927

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Warren, Knight & Davis of Birmingham, Alabama

Contractor:  H H Taylor


Description: The building faces west and is a three story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Wewahitchka. The west front has a large portico with four columns rising to a pediment at the third story. The center section of the building projects from the main building which has north and south two story wings. A wide white colored belt runs along the roof line of the wings and above the second story. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the former courtroom is located on the second story. The building is now vacant and stands abandoned.


See: The architect,  Warren, Knight & Davis of Birmingham, Alabama, designed courthouses in Franklin County and Walton County and in Alabama in Elmore County and Lawrence County.


See:  The 14th Judicial Circuit includes Bay CountyCalhoun County, Holmes CountyJackson County and Washington County.


See:  The county is located in the First Judicial District of the Court of Appeal – First Judicial District located in Tallahassee.


History:  The county was created in 1925 and Wewahitchka was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was constructed in Wewahitchka in 1926 to 1927. The county seat was moved to Port St Joe in 1965 and the second and present courthouse was constructed in 1966 to 1967.



County Courthouse – Port St Joe





























Old County Courthouse – Wewahitchka


















Former courtroom













Photos taken 2009 and 2023