Skip to content
Home » US States » V-Z » Vermont


Vermont became the 14th state on March 4, 1791. Montpelier is the state capital. There are currently 14 counties each with a courthouse.



Click on a county below to learn more:

Addison Bennington Caledonia  Chittenden  Essex 
Franklin Grand Isle  Lamoille  Orange  Orleans
Rutland Washington Windham Windsor   

Vermont Supreme Court


Highest Point – Mount Mansfield ( 4,393 feet ) is located in Chittenden County  and Lamoille County

Lowest Point – Lake Champlain ( 95 feet ) is located in Grand Isle County


Oldest Courthouse still in use – Windham County (1825)

Oldest Former Courthouse – Bennington County (1822)


State House – Montpelier