Skip to content
Home » US States » V-Z » Virginia » Russell County

Russell County

Russell County is named for William Russell, who was a frontiersman and a state representative.


Surrounmding County Courthouses: 

N – Dickenson County and Buchanan County

E – Tazewell County and Smyth County 

S – Washington County

W – Scott County and Wise County


Created:  January 2, 1786                      Map of Virginia highlighting Russell County

County Seat: 

Castlewood  1786 – 1818

Lebanon       1818 – present


County Courthouse – Lebanon


Location:  53 East Main Street / Hendricks Avenue

Built:  1874 – 1875

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Felix Grundy Ketron of Lebanon

Contractor:  Felix Grundy Ketron of Lebanon


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story red colored brick and wood  structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Lebanon and is “T” shaped with a north wing. The south front has a large portico with four white colored columns rising to an ornamented pediment. On the west corner, the building projects slightly. On the center of the roof is a high white colored cupola with white colored dome. The roof is hipped. The building houses the County Circuit Court, County General District Court and County Juvenile and Domestic Relations Court of the 29th Judicial Circuit. On the north side is a large addition. Additions were constructed in 1891, 1905 and 1922. The architect in 1922 was Burnett, Dixon & Burnett. A further addition was added in 1958.


Old County Courthouse – Dickensonville (Castlewood)


Location:  Highway 58A west of Dickensonville

Built:  1799

Style:  Federal

Architect:  Henry Dickenson

Contractor:  Henry Dickenson


Description:  The building is a two story stone structure. The building served as the courthouse until 1818 when the county seat was moved to Lebanon. A brick wing was added to the stone structure by the Robert Dickenson family between 1830 and 1850. Used as a residence until the 1970’s, the courthouse began to undergo a restoration process in 1976


See:  The 29th Judicial Circuit includes Buchanan CountyDickenson County and Tazewell County.


History:  The county was created i 1786 and Castlewood (Dickensonville) was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in 1799 in Castlewood. The county seat was moved to Lebanon in 1818 and the second courthouse was built in 1818. The courthouse was destroyed by fire in February 1872.  Felix Grundy Ketron, a master carpenter, was hired to rebuild the structure in 1874 which became the third and present courthouse following the design of the 1818 courthouse.  Materials were used from the local area. The front has limestone foundation and the bricks were fired and made on Elk Garden region of the county.



County Courthouse – Lebanon



















Photos taken 2013