Skip to content
Home » US States » V-Z » West Virginia

West Virginia

West Virginia became the 35th state on June 20, 1863. Charleston is the state capital. There are currently 55 counties each with a courthouse.



Click on a county below to learn more:

Barbour  Berkeley  Boone  Braxton Brooke
Cabell Calhoun Clay  Doddridge Fayette 
Gilmer Grant Greenbrier Hampshire Hancock
Hardy Harrison Jackson  Jefferson Kanawha 
Lewis Lincoln  Logan  Marion  Marshall 
Mason McDowell Mercer Mineral  Mingo 
Monongalia  Monroe  Morgan Nicholas Ohio 
Pendleton  Pleasants Pocahontas Preston Putnam
Raleigh  Randolph Ritchie  Roane Summers 
Taylor Tucker  Tyler Upshur Wayne 
Webster Wetzel Wirt Wood Wyoming 


West Virginia Supreme Court


Highest Point – Spruce Knob ( 4,863 feet ) is located in Pendleton County

Lowest Point  – Potomac River ( 240 feet ) is located in Jefferson County


Oldest Courthouse still in use – Jefferson County (1836-1837) and Greenbrier County (1837-1838)

Oldest Former Courthouse – Hardy County (1792)


State Capitol – Charleston


Governor Mansion – Charleston