Skip to content
Home » Canada Courthouses » Ontario » Leeds and Grenville United Counties

Leeds and Grenville United Counties

Leeds and Grenville United Counties. Leeds County is named for Francis Osborne, who was the 5th Duke of Leeds named after Leeds in West Yorkshire, England. Grenville County is named for William Wyndham Grenville, who was the British Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs.


Created:  1752

District Seat: 

Brockville  1792 – 1850

Brockville   1850 – present  ( United Counties )


Courthouse – Brockville


Location:  41 Court House Square / Broad Street

Built:  1842 – 1843

Style:  Edwardian / Neo-Classical

Architect:  John George Howard

Contractor:  Benjamin Chaffey


Description:  The building faces southeast and is a three story brown colored stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds of the Courthouse Green sloping eastwards in the centre of the city. The southeast front has a projecting centre section with arched entrance and windows on the first story. Six Ionic columns rise from the second story to the top of the third story with pediment and clock above. At the top is a statue. The centre section is flanked by two identical wings. The west wing was added in 1888, while the Gaoler’s House on the east side was built in 1898.The building was named as the Johnstown District Courthouse and the building houses the Superior Court of Justice.



N – Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry

E – New York   

S – Frontenac County

W – Lanark County and Ottawa-Carlton Region



































Photos taken 2010 and 2018