Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Maryland


Maryland became the 7th state on April 28, 1788. Annapolis is the state capital. There are currently 23 counties each with a courthouse.



Click on a county below to learn more:

Allegany Anne Arundel Baltimore Calvert  Caroline 
Carroll  Cecil  Charles  Dorchester  Frederick
Garrett  Harford Howard Kent  Montgomery 
Prince George’s Queen Anne’s  Saint Mary’s Somerset Talbot 
Washington Wicomico  Worcester    


Baltimore City


Maryland Court of Appeals


Highest Point – Hoye-Crest ( 3,360 feet ) is located in Garrett County

Lowest Point  – Atlantic Ocean ( 0 feet ) is located along the east coast.


Oldest Courthouse still in use – Queen Anne’s County (1791-1796)

Oldest Former Courthouse –   


State House – Annapolis



Governor Mansion – Annapolis