Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Idaho


Idaho became the 43rd state on July 3, 1890. Boise is the state capital. There are currently 44 counties each with a courthouse.



Click on a county below to learn more:

Ada  Adams  Bannock  Bear Lake  Benewah
Bingham  Blaine  Boise Bonner Bonneville
Boundary Butte  Camas  Canyon  Caribou 
Cassia Clark  Clearwater Custer  Elmore 
Franklin Fremont  Gem Gooding  Idaho
Jefferson  Jerome Kootenai  Latah Lemhi 
Lewis Lincoln  Madison Minidoka  Nez Perce 
Oneida  Owyhee Payette Power Shoshone
Teton Twin Falls Valley Washington  

Idaho Supreme Court


Highest Point – Borah Peak ( 12,662 feet ) is located in Custer County

Lowest Point  – Snake River (  710 feet ) is located in Nez Perce County 


Oldest Courthouse still in use – Boise County (1871)

Oldest Former Courthouse – Shoshone County (Pierce 1862 is now located in Clearwater County)



State Capitol – Boise



Governor Mansion – Boise ( demolished 2016 )