Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Idaho » Jefferson County

Jefferson County

Jefferson County is named for Thomas Jefferson, who was President of the United States from 1801 to 1809.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Clark County

E – Fremont County and Madison County

S – Bonneville County and Bingham County

W – Butte County and Clark County


Created:  February 18, 1913                                                      Map of Idaho highlighting Jefferson County

County Seat: 

Rigby  1913 – present


County Courthouse – Rigby 


Location:  250 Courthouse Way / Community Way

Built:  2006 – 2007

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Ormond Builders, Inc. of Idaho Falls

Contractor:  Ormond Builders, Inc. of Idaho Falls


Description:  The building  faces east and is a one story red and buff colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds on the north side of the center of Rigby. The east front has a high glass entrance section with rounded roof and with an extended exterior porch with rounded roof. The lower part of the building is buff colored brick and the upper part is red colored brick. The roof line is flat. In the interior, there is a wide atrium rising to windows along the second story. The building houses the County District Court and County Magistrate Court of the 7th Judicial District. 


Note:  A new addition is under construction in 2017 at a cost of $4,000,000. The architect was NBW Architect of Idaho Falls and the contractor was D L Beck Inc. of Rexburg.

Former County Courthouse – Rigby



Location:  134 North Clark Street / East Fremont Avenue

Built:  1939 – 1940

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:   Sundberg & Sundberg of Idaho Falls

Contractor:   Johnson J Mickelson of Logan, Utah


Description:  The building  faced west and was a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The west front had a projecting center section with recessed entrance and with concrete trim rising to the second story. There were lower north and south wings. The roof line was flat. The architect was Sundberg & Sundberg of Idaho Falls and the contractor was Johnson J Mickelson of Logan, Utah. The building was demolished in 2016.

See:  The architect, Sundberg & Sundberg of Idaho Falls also designed the courthouses in Jerome County and  Oneida County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Jefferson County Courthouse


See:  The 7th Judicial District includes Bingham CountyBonneville CountyButte CountyClark CountyCuster CountyFremont CountyJefferson County, Lemhi County, Madison County and Teton County.


History:  The county was created in 1913 and Rigby was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a small one story frame structure leased fron Rigby in 1914. The second courthouse was constructed in 1939 to 1940 at a cost of $55,673. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 2006 to 2007.



County Courthouse – Rigby









Former County Courthouse – Rigby (demolished)



Photos taken 2011