Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » South Carolina

South Carolina

South Carolina became the 8th state on May 23, 1788. Columbia is the state capital. There are currently 46 counties each with a courthouse.



Click on a county below to learn more:

Abbeville  Aiken Allendale  Anderson Bamberg
Barnwell  Beaufort  Berkeley Calhoun Charleston 
Cherokee Chester  Chesterfield Clarendon  Colleton
Darlington Dillon  Dorchester  Edgefield Fairfield
Florence Georgetown  Greenville Greenwood Hampton
Horry Jasper  Kershaw Lancaster  Laurens 
Lee Lexington  Marion Marlboro McCormick 
Newberry  Oconee  Orangeburg  Pickens Richland
Saluda  Spartanburg  Sumter  Union  Williamsburg

South Carolina Court of Appeals

South Carolina Supreme Court


Highest Point – Sassafras Mountain ( 3,548 feet ) is located in Greenville County and Pickens County

Lowest Point  – Atlantic Ocean ( sea level ) 


Oldest Courthouse still in use – Colleton County (1822)

Oldest Former Courthouse – Charleston County (1792)


State Capitol – Columbia


Governor Mansion – Columbia