Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Montana


Montana became the 41st state on November 8, 1889. Helena is the state capital. There are currently 56 counties each with a courthouse.



Click on a county below to learn more:

Beaverhead  Big Horn  Blaine  Broadwater  Carbon
Carter  Cascade  Choteau Custer  Daniels 
Dawson  Deer Lodge  Fallon Fergus  Flathead 
Gallatin Garfield  Glacier  Golden Valley Granite 
Hill  Jefferson Judith Basin Lake  Lewis and Clark 
Liberty   Lincoln  Madison  McCone  Meagher
Mineral Missoula  Musselshell Park  Petroleum 
Phillips  Pondera  Powder River Powell  Prairie
Ravalli Richland  Roosevelt  Rosebud Sanders 
Sheridan Silver Bow Stillwater Sweet Grass Teton
Toole  Treasure  Valley  Wheatland  Wibaux

Montana Supreme Court


Highest Point – Granite Peak ( 12,807 feet ) is located in Park County 

Lowest Point  – Kootenai River ( 1,820 feet ) is located in Lincoln County


Oldest Courthouse still in use – Madison County (1875-1876) and Choteau County (1884)

Oldest Courthouse – Beaverhead County (Bannock – 1875)



State Capitol – Helena


Governor Mansion – Helena


Old Governor Mansion – Helena