Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Montana » Silver Bow County

Silver Bow County

Silver Bow County is named for Silver Bow Creek which flows through Butte and where gold was discovered.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Deer Lodge County

E – Jefferson County

S – Madison County

W – Beaverhead County


Created:  February 16, 1881                  Map of Montana highlighting Silver Bow County

County Seat: 

Butte  1881 – present


County Courthouse – Butte


Location:  155 West Granite Street / North Montana Street

Built:  1910 – 1912

Style:  Beaux Arts

Architect:  John G Link and Charles S Haire of Billings

Contractor:  Sound Construction and Engineering Company


Description:  The building faces south and is a four story gray colored stone and concrete structure. The building is located in the center of Butte. The building has a raised basement. The south front has a projecting center section with wide stairs and three rectangular entrances. Six columns rise from the third story to the top of the fourth story. Above is a wide header with small windows along the fourth story. A balustrade runs along the roof line. In the interior, the second story entrance leads to the grand rotunda with walls decorated with golden mosaic murals of personified muses – Justice, Geography, History and Philosophy. Above them, Presidents Lincoln, McKinley, Washington, and Wilson reside on the corners of the dome. Large pillars of Montana-quarried Travertine draw the eye upward toward the mosaics and stained glass dome at the roof. On the west side of the third story is the large County District Court Courtroom 1 and on the east side is the County District Court Courtroom 2. The Law Library is along the north side and extend into the fourth story. In the northeast corner is the County Justice Court courtrroom and on the fourth story is the City Court courtroom. The building houses the County District Court of the 2nd Judicial District and County Justice Court. The architect was John Link and Charles Haire of Billings and the contractor was Sound Construction and Engineering Company. The building also houses the City of Butte offices.


See:  The architect, John G Link of Montana ( in association with Charles S Haire  and others ) designed courthouses in Montana in Big Horn County, Carter County, Custer County, Dawson County, Granite County, McCone County, Musselshell CountyRichland County, Rosebud County and Sheridan County; in Oregon in Jackson County and in Wyoming in Park CountySheridan County and Washakie County.


History:  The county was created in 1881 and Butte was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a two story structure designed by J R Roberts and built in 1884 to 1885. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1910 to 1912 at a cost of $485,000.



County Courthouse – Butte





























County District Court Courtroom 1





















County District Court Courtroom 2











Law Library













County Justice Court courtroom











City District Court courtroom













Photos taken 2011 and 2022