Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Montana » Sheridan County

Sheridan County

Sheridan County is named for Philip Henry Sheridan, who was a general during the American Civil War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Saskatchewan, Canada

E – Divide County, North Dakota and Williams CountyNorth Dakota

S – Roosevelt County

W – Roosevelt County and Daniels County


Created:  March 24, 1913                       Map of Montana highlighting Sheridan County

County Seat: 

Plentywood  1913 – present


County Courthouse –  Plentywood 


Location:  100 West Laurel Avenue / North Main Avenue

Built:  1936 – 1937

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:   Edwin G. Osness and John G Link of Billings

Contractor:  Public Works Administration ( local labor )


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story white colored stucco and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Plentywood. The building has a raised basement and has three narrow arched windows above the central entrance. The center section extends from the main building. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the County District Court courtroom is located on the third story. The building houses the County District Court of the 15th Judicial District and County Justice Court. The building was constructed under the Public Works Administration using local labor.  The building was remodeled in 1973. An addition was built on the west and north sides in 1981 to 1983. The architect was Bob H Hatfield of Dickinson and the contractor was Aldinger Construction of Glendive, Montana.


Note:   J C Canning of Williston was hired for the plumbing and Detroit Steel Products Company won the bid for the windows.


See:  The architect, John G Link of Montana ( in association with Charles S Haire  and others ) designed courthouses in Montana in Big Horn County, Carter County, Custer County, Dawson County, Granite County, McCone County, Musselshell CountyRichland County, Rosebud County and Silver Bow County; in Oregon in Jackson County and in Wyoming in Park CountySheridan County and Washakie County.


See:  The 15th Judicial District includes Daniels CountyRoosevelt County and Sheridan County.


History:  The county was created in 1913 and Plentywood was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a one story wood frame structure. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1936 to 1937.



County Courthouse – Plentywood



















County District Court courtroom









Commissioner Minutes – Window Contract



Commissioner Minutes – Plumbing Contract



Commissioner Minutes – Local Labor

Photos taken 2006, 2012 and 2016