Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Minnesota


Minnesota became the 32nd state on May 11, 1858. Saint Paul is the state capital. There are currently 87 counties each with a courthouse.



Click on a county below to learn more:

Aitkin  Anoka  Becker  Beltami Benton 
Big Stone Blue Earth  Brown  Carlton  Carver 
Cass Chippewa Chisago  Clay Clearwater 
Cook  Cottonwood Crow Wing Dakota  Dodge 
Douglas  Faribault  Fillmore  Freeborn Goodhue 
Grant  Hennepin  Houston  Hubbard Isanti 
Itasca  Jackson  Kanabec  Kandiyohi  Kittson
Koochiching Lac Qui Parle Lake Lake of the Woods  Le Sueur 
Lincoln  Lyon  Mahnomen Marshall  Martin 
McLeod  Meeker  Mille Lacs Morrison  Mower 
Murray Nicollet  Nobles  Norman  Olmsted
Otter Tail Pennington  Pine  Pipestone Polk
Pope Ramsey  Red Lake Redwood Renville
Rice Rock Roseau Saint Louis Scott
Sherburne  Sibley  Stearns Steele  Stevens 
Swift  Todd  Traverse Wabasha Wadena 
Waseca  Washington Watonwan Wilkin Winona 
Wright  Yellow Medicine      

Supreme Court 


Saint Paul / Minneapolis ( Architects – Buechiner & Orth / Toltz, King & Day / Charles E Bell )


Highest Point – Eagle Mountain ( 2,301 feet ) is located in Cook County

Lowest Point  – Lake Superior ( 602 feet ) is located in Cook CountyLake County and Saint Louis County


Oldest Courthouse – Dodge County (1870)

Oldest Former Courthouse – Washington County (1870)



State Capitol – Saint Paul



Governor Mansion – Saint Paul