Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Minnesota » Red Lake County

Red Lake County

Red Lake County is named after Red Lake and Red Lake River which the Ojibways named for the lake for its wine-like color at sunset.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Pennington County

E – Polk County

S – Polk County

W – Polk County


Created:  December 24, 1896                Map of Minnesota highlighting Red Lake County

County Seat:

Red Lake Falls  1896 – present


County Courthouse – Red Lake


Location:  124 Main Avenue North / Langevin Avenue NW

Built:  1910 – 1911

Style:  Beaux Arts

Architect:  Fremont D Orff of Minneapolis

Contractor:  James Brady


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure.  The building is located on sloped landscaped grounds in the center of Red Lake Falls. On each of the four corners are pavilions of the brick with small drums and domes. A large central dome, was removed in the 1940’s leaving the square balustered platform. The main east entrance is topped by a classic pediment and emtablature. In the interior, a two-story central rotunda has arched openings onto the second level circling hallway. The County District Court courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the County District Court of the 9th Judicial District.


See:  The architect, Fremont D Orff, designed courthouses in Minnesota in Big Stone County, Renville County and Waseca County; and in Nebraska in Wayne County


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Red Lake County Courthouse


See:  The 9th Judicial District includes Aitkin County, Beltrami County, Cass County, Clearwater CountyCrow Wing CountyHubbard CountyItasca CountyKittson CountyKoochiching CountyLake of the Woods CountyMahnomen County, Marshall CountyNorman CountyPennington CountyPolk County and Roseau County.


History:  The county was created in 1896 and Red Lake was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a wood stucture built in 1896. The courthouse was destroyed by fire in April 1909. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1910 to 1911 at a cost of $37,070.



County Courthouse – Red Lake





















County District Court courtroom









Photos taken 2007, 2008 and 2017