Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Louisiana


Louisiana became the 18th state on April 8, 1812. Baton Rouge is the state capital. There are currently 64 parishes ( counties ) each with a courthouse.



Click on a parish below to learn more:

Acadia Allen  Ascension Assumption Avoyelles
Beauregard  Bienville  Bossier  Caddo  Calcasieu
Caldwell  Cameron  Catahoula Claiborne Concordia
DeSoto  East Baton Rouge East Carroll  East Feliciana  Evangeline
Franklin Grant Iberia Iberville  Jackson
Jefferson Jefferson Davis La Salle Lafayette  Lafourche 
Lincoln Livingston Madison Morehouse Natchitoches
Orleans Ouachita Plaquemines Pointe Coupee Rapides
Red River  Richland Sabine Saint Bernard Saint Charles
Saint Helena Saint James Saint John the Baptist Saint Landry Saint Martin
Saint Mary Saint Tammany Tangipahoa Tensas Terrebonne
Union Vermilion Vernon Washington  Webster
West Baton Rouge West Carroll West Feliciana Winn  


Louisiana Supreme Court 


Louisiana First Court of Appeal – Baton Rouge

Louisiana Second Court of Appeal – Shreveport

Louisiana Third Court of Appeal – Lake Charles

Louisiana Fourth Court of Appeal – New Orleans

Louisiana Fifth Court of Appeal – Gretna


Highest Point – Driskall Mountain ( 535 feet ) is located in Bienville Parish.

Lowest Point  – New Orleans  ( -5 feet ) is located in Orleans Parish.


Oldest Courthouse still in use – East Feliciana Parish (1840-1841)

Oldest Former Courthouse – East Feliciana Parish (Jackson – 1816-1817)



State Capitol – Baton Rouge



Old State Capitol – Baton Rouge



Governor Mansion – Baton Rouge



Old Governor Mansion – Baton Rouge