Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Louisiana » Lafayette Parish

Lafayette Parish

Lafayette Parish is named for Marie Joseph Paul Lafayette, who was a French general who fought in the American Revolutionary War and who lived from 1757 to 1834.


Surrounding Parish Courthouses: 

N – Saint Landry Parish

E – Saint Martin Parish and Iberia Parish

S – Vermilion Parish

W – Acadia Parish


Created:  January 17, 1852                    Map of Louisiana highlighting Lafayette Parish

Parish Seat: 

Lafayette  1852 – present


Parish Courthouse – Lafayette  


Location:  800 South Buchanan Street / West Main Street

Built:  1964 – 1965

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Don O’Rourke, Gerald M Gossen and Jason T Benoit Associates

Contractor:  Horace B Rickey, Inc.


Description:  The building faces east and is a seven story concrete and glass structure. The building is located in the center of Lafayette and has projecting vertical sections with long vertical windows.  There are narrow vertical dividers on the third story to sixth story. The entrance is located on the second story with a recessed area. The roof line is flat.


See:  The 15th Judicial District includes Acadia Parish and Vermilion Parish.


History:  The parish was created in 1852 and Lafayette was selected as the parish seat. The first courthouse was constructed by Benjamin F Templeton in 1860. The second courthouse was designed by William T Nolan and constructed by General Construction Company in 1928. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1964 to 1965.



Parish Courthouse – Lafayette



















Old Parish Courthouse plaque 1928

Photos taken 2011, 217 and 2019