Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Maine


Maine became the 23rd state on March 15, 1820. Augusta is the state capital. There are currently 16 counties each with a courthouse.



Click on a county below to learn more:

Androscoggin  Aroostook Cumberland Franklin  Hancock 
Kennebec  Knox Lincoln Oxford  Penobscot 
Piscataquis Sagadahoc Somerset  Waldo  Washington

Maine Supreme Court


Highest Point – Mount Katahdin ( 5,267 feet ) is located in Piscataquis County.

Lowest Point  – Atlantic Ocean (sea level) 


Oldest Courthouse still in use – Lincoln County (1824-1825)

Oldest Former Courthouse – Lincoln County (Dresden – 1760-1761)



State House – Augusta



Governor Mansion – Augusta