Skip to content
Home » US States » M » Maine » Penobscot County

Penobscot County

Penobscot County is named for the Native Indian Tribe called “Penobscot”.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Aroostook County 

E – Aroostook County and Washington County

S – Hancock County and Waldo County

W – Somerset County and Piscataquis County


Created:  February 15, 1816                                                      Map of Maine highlighting Penobscot County

County Seat: 

Bangor  1816 – present


County Courthouse – Bangor  


Location:  97 Hammond Street / Court Street

Built:  1902 – 1903

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Wilfred E Mansur

Contractor:  Moses C Foster.


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story red colored brick and stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Bangor. The building has a portico with three stone arches on the first story and two columns rising to the pediment at the top of the third story. Behind the columns are high windows. The corners of the building are trimmed with stone. The roof is hipped. On the east side is the old red colored brick Sheriff Residence.


County Judicial Center – Bangor  



Location:  78 Exchange Street / Hancock Street

Built:  2007 – 2009

Style:  Modern

Architect:  WBRC Architects and Leers Weinzapfel Associates of Boston

Contractor:  Consigli Construction Company, Inc. of Milford, Massachusetts


Description:  The building faces north and is three story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Bangor to the south of the courthouse. At the northwest corner is a circular tower with entrance on the first story. On the second and third stories, the windows are vertical with panels between. The roof line is flat.


History:  The county was created in 1816 and Bangor was designated as the county seat in 1816. The first courthouse was built by private citizens in 1812 to 1813 and the first court session was held in 1816. The county bought the building in 1825 for $2,000. The second courthouse was a brick structure built by Charles H Pond in 1833. An addition was built in 1859. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1903 to 1904 at a cost of $116,500. The County Judicial Center was constructed in 2007 to 2009 at a cost of $36,400,000.


Other Branch Courthouses


Lincoln               Millinocket               Newport



County Courthouse – Bangor

















Old Sheriff Residence – Bangor



County Judicial Center – Bangor













Photos taken 2006, 2014 and 2018