Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Tennessee » Scott County

Scott County

Scott County is named for Winfield Scott, who was a United States army officer.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Wayne County, Kentucky and McCreary County, Kentucky

E – Campbell County

S – Anderson County and Morgan County

W – Morgan CountyFentress County and Pickett County 


Created:  December 17, 1849                Map of Tennessee highlighting Scott County

County Seat: 

Huntsville  1849 – present


County Justice Center – Huntsville  


Location:  575 Scott High Drive / Old Brimstone Road

Built:  2007 – 2008

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Southbuild, LLC

Contractor:  Henson Construction Services Inc.


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red and buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds several miles west of the courthouse in Huntsville. The northwest front has a projecting center section of light red colored brick with a portico and recessed entrance on the north side. The main building has yellow colored brick on the upper part and light red colored brick on the lower one-third which has square windows. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County Circuit Court, County Chancery Court, County Criminal Court, County General Sessions Court and County Juvenile Court of the 8th Judicial District. The building is named as the Scott County Justice Complex. The project manager was Spirit Architecture Group LLC.


County Courthouse – Huntsville  



Location:  283 Court Street / Woodland Place

Built:  1946 – 1947

Style:  Neo-Classical Revival

Architect:  Clem H Meyer

Contractor:  John A Johnson and Sons.


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story brick, glass and concrete  structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Huntsville. The center section has a stone framed entrance on the first story rising to a peaked roof with square cupola with clock. The north and south sections are lower with one story hipped roof sections on the north and south. In the interior were two courtrooms. The building now houses the County Administration. To the south is the old three story stone County Jail built in 1907.


See:  The 8th Judicial District includes Campbell CountyClaiborne CountyFentress County and Union County.


History:  The county was created in 1849 and Huntsville was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in 1851. The second courthouse was built in 1874. The third courthouse was designed by Chamberlin & Company and constructed by Ruth Holmes in 1906. The building burned in 1946. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1946 to 1947. The County Justice Center was constructed in 2007 to 2008.




County Justice Center – Huntsville 



















County Courthouse – Huntsville 













Old County Jail





Photos taken 2014 and 2018