Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Tennessee » Pickett County

Pickett County

Pickett County is named for Howell L Pickett, who was a Tennessee State legislator.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Clinton County, Kentucky and Wayne County, Kentucky

E – Scott County

S – Fentress County and Overton County 

W – Clay County 


Created:  February 27, 1879                  Map of Tennessee highlighting Pickett County

County Seat: 

Byrdstown  1879 – present


County Courthouse – Byrdstown  


Location:  1 Courthouse Square / South Main Street

Built:  1934 – 1935

Style:  Federal

Architect:  Marr & Holman

Contractor:  Nile E Yearwood.


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story buff colored Crab Orchard flagstone and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Byrdstown. The north front of the building has a central entrance framed with white colored wood. On the center of the roof is a square tiered white colored cupola with clock at the top. The roof is hipped. In the interior, the courtroom is located on the second story. The jail is located in the basement. The building houses the County Circuit Court, County Chancery Court, County Criminal Court, County General Sessions Court and County Juvenile Court of the 13th Judicial District.


See:  The architect, Joseph Holman and Thomas Marr of Nashville, designed courthouses in Bedford County, Franklin CountyHardin CountyLauderdale CountyMadison CountyMcNairy County, Obion CountySumner County and Weakley County. They also designed the Tennessee Supreme Court in Nashville.


First County Courthouse – Byrdstown  



Location:  100 Courthouse Square / South Main Street

Built:  1880 – 1882

Style:  Commercial

Architect:  Arch Miller

Contractor:  Arch Miller


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story wood frame structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Brydsrown on the south side of the courthouse. The building is the Arch Miller Building.


See:  The 13th Judicial District includes Clay County, Cumberland CountyDeKalb County,  Overton County, Putnam County and White County.


History:  The county was created in 1879 and Byrdstown was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was the Arch Miller Building built in 1880 to 1882. The second courthouse was built in 1890 and burned in 1934. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1934 to 1935.



County Courthouse – Byrdstown 





















Photos taken 2014