Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Tennessee » White County

White County

White County is named for John White, who was a soldier during the American Revolutionary War and who was the first settler in the county.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Putnam County

E – Cumberland County

S – Van Buren County and Warren County

W – DeKalb County


Created:  September 11, 1806               Map of Tennessee highlighting White County

County Seat: 

Rock Island ( Warren County )  1806 – 1809

Sparta                                        1809 – present


County Courthouse – Sparta  


Location:  1 East Brockman Way / South Main Street

Built:  1974 – 1975

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Martin J Lide of Birmingham, Alabama

Contractor:  Hardaway Construction Company Inc.


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story glass and white colored concrete structure. The building is located on the landscaped grounds of Liberty Square in the center of Sparta. Each side has three arches on the first story and pilasters rising to the roof line with pediment above. The County Circuit Court courtroom is located on the west side of the third story. The building houses the County Circuit Court, County Chancery Court, County Criminal Court, County General Sessions Court and County Juvenile Court of the 13th Judicial District. 


See:  The architect,  Martin J Lide of Birmingham, designed courthouses in Alabama in  Blount County, Cullman County, Marshall County, Saint Clair County, Tallapoosa County and Wilcox County and in Tennessee in Anderson CountyRoane County and Union County.


See:  The 13th Judicial District includes Clay County, Cumberland CountyDeKalb County, Overton County, Pickett County and Putnam County.


History:  The county was created in 1806 and Rock Island was selected as the county seat. The first court was held in 1806 at the home of Joseph Terry at Rock Island ( Warren County ). In 1809 the county seat was moved to Sparta. The first courthouse in Sparta was a log structure built in 1810. The second courthouse was designed by Rueben H Hunt and constructed by William F Doolittle in 1894. The present courthouse was constructed in 1974 to 1975 at a cost of $1,000,000.



County Courthouse – Sparta















County Circuit Court courtroom



















Photos taken 2012 and 2018