Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Alabama » Cullman County

Cullman County


Cullman County is named for John G Cullman, who was a Colonel and the founder of the county seat.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Morgan County and Marshall County

E – Marshall County and Blount County

S – Blount County and Walker County

W – Walker County and Winston County


Created:  January 24, 1877                                                        Map of Alabama highlighting Cullman County

County Seat:

Cullman  1877 – present


County Courthouse – Cullman


Location:  500 2nd Avenue SW / 5th Street SW

Built:  1963 – 1964

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Martin J Lide of Birmingham

Contractor:  Algernon Blair, Inc.


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a three story stone, concrete and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Cullman. The southwest front has a large canopy in the center at the first story entrance. The corner sections are lower and faced with stone. The windows are vertical with vertical dividers between. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 32nd Judicial Circuit and the County District Court and County Probate Court. The building was remodeled in 2012 after tornado damage. The architect was Fred Fagg of F & O Architects, LLC. and the contractor was Edison & Associates.


See:  The architect,  Martin J Lide of Birmingham, designed courthouses in Alabama in Blount County, Marshall County, Saint Clair County, Tallapoosa County and Wilcox County and in Tennessee in Anderson CountyRoane County, Union County and White County.


History:  The county was created in 1877 and Cullman was selected as the county seat. The first court met at Ambruster’s Hall and the European Hotel. The first courthouse was a two story red colored brick structure erected by Mr. Nelson on the corner of Second Avenue West and Fourth Street in 1879 at a cost of $5,600. The courthouse was damage by fire in 1894. An abandoned school became the third courthouse. The fourth courthouse was designed by W A Schlosse and constructed by F M Dobson & Free in 1912 to 1913. The fifth and present courthouse was constructed in 1963 to 1964.



County Courthouse – Cullman











County Courthouse before tornado 2012















Photos taken 2010 and 2014