Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Alabama » Wilcox County

Wilcox County


Wilcox County is named for Joseph M Wilcox, who was a lieutenant during the Creek War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

 Marengo County and Dallas County

E – Lowndes County and Butler County

S – Monroe County and Clarke County

W – Clarke County and Marengo County


Created:  December 13, 1819                                                    Map of Alabama highlighting Wilcox County

County Seat:        

Canton Bend  1819 – 1833

Camden          1833 – present


County Courthouse – Camden


Location:  12 Water Street / Claiborne Street

Built:  1977 – 1978

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Martin J Lide of Birmingham

Contractor:  Rodgers & Bullard Construction Corporation of Montgomery


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a three story light red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Camden. The southwest front has a large portico with arches on the first story and four square pillars rising to a pediment at the roof line. There is stone trim at the corners. The roof line is flat. The building is named as the “Courthouse Annex”. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 4th Judicial Circuit and the County District Counrt and County Probate Court.


See:  The architect,  Martin J Lide of Birmingham, designed courthouses in Alabama in Blount CountyCullman County, Marshall County, Saint Clair County and Tallapoosa County and in Tennessee in Anderson CountyRoane County, Union County and White County.


Old County Courthouse – Camden



Location:  Broad Street / Claiborne Street

Built:  1857 – 1858

Style:  Greek Revival

Architect:  Alexander Bragg of Camden

Contractor:  Alexander Bragg of Camden


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a two story red colored brick structure. The building is located in the center of Camden. The southwest front has a large portico supported by four large white colored columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. An addition was added on the northeast side in 1983. The architect was Sherlock, Smith & Adams, Inc. and the contractor was Weston Scarsbrook. The building houses the county offices and the public library.


See:  The 4th Judicial Circuit includes Bibb CountyDallas County, Hale County and Perry County.


History:  The county was created in 1819 and Canton Bend was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a two story wooden structure erected in Canton Bend in 1819. The county seat was moved to Barbourville ( Camden ) in 1833. The second courthouse was a two story wood structure which was torn down when the third courthouse was built in 1857 to 1858. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1977 to 1978.



County Courthouse – Camden











Old County Courthouse – Camden















Photos taken 2010 and 2023