Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Alabama » Butler County

Butler County


Butler County is named for William Butler, who was born in Virginia and who fought in the Creek War and was killed in 1818.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

– Wilcox County and Lowndes County

E – Crenshaw County

S – Covington CountyMonroe County and Conecuh County

W – Conecuh County and Wilcox County 


Created:  December 13, 1819                                                    Map of Alabama highlighting Butler County

County Seat:

Fort Dale   1819 – 1822

Greenville  1822 – present


County Courthouse – Greenville


Location:  700 Courthouse Square / Conecuh Street

Built:  1903 – 1904

Style:  Romanesque Revival

Architect:  B B Smith

Contractor:  Dobson & Bynum


Description:  The building  faces west and is a two story red colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The building is located on the landscaped grounds of Courthouse Square in the center of Greenville. The west front has a portico on the first story supported by six columns. The front of the first story is faced with stone. Above the entrance rises a five story clock tower having a balcony around the fifth story and a red dome at the top. On the north and south sides are three sided projections. The courthouse was first constructed in 1871 and completely remodeled in 1903 to 1904. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 2nd Judicial Circuit and the County District Court and County Probate Court. The building was renovated in 1971. The architect was C H Lancaster, Jr. of Montgomery and the contractor was Andalusia Development Company of Andalusia.


See:  The 2nd Judicial Circuit includes Crenshaw County and Lowndes County.


History:  The county was created in 1819 and Fort Dale was selected as the county seat. In 1822, the county seat was moved to Greenville and the first courthouse was designed by A G Smith and John K Hardy and constructed by Brockman W Henderson. The courthouse burned in 1853 and the second courthouse was built. In 1871, the third courthouse was built by D T McCall and M Wimberly. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1903 to 1904.



County Courthouse – Greenville























Photos taken 2009, 2020 and 2023