Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Alabama » Monroe County

Monroe County


Monroe County is named for James Monroe, who was the fifth President of the United States from 1817 to 1825.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

 Wilcox County

E – Butler County and Conecuh County

S – Escambia County and Baldwin County

W – Clarke County


Created:  June 29, 1815                                                             Map of Alabama highlighting Monroe County

County Seat:

Claiborne     1815 – 1832

Monroeville  1832 – present


County Courthouse – Monroeville


Location:  65 North Alabama Street / Pineville Road

Built:  1962 – 1963

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Sherlock, Smith & Adams, Inc. of Montgomery

Contractor:  S J Curry & Company


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story orange-red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Monroeville on the north side of the old courthouse. The east front has a long porch across the front supported by eight concrete pillars with balcony on the second story. The flat roof line has a wide band running below the eaves.  The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 35th Judicial Circuit and the County District Court and County Probate Court.


Note: The architect, Sherlock, Smith & Adams, Inc. of Montgomery, designed couthouses in DeKalb County, Geneva County and Marengo County.


Old County Courthouse – Monroeville



Location:  31 North Alabama Street / Claiborne Street

Built:  1903 – 1904

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:   Andrew J Bryan

Contractor:  M T Lewman and Company of Louisville, Kentucky


Description:  The building faces east and is a three story orange-red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Monroeville. The east two story front has a projecting center section rising to a pediment at the roof line. On the north and south sides of the center section are the entrances. On the east side are north and south wings which also rise to pediments at the roof line. Behind is a circular three story section containing the oval shaped courtroom on the second story. The west section is rectangular. Above the east front rises a high white colored octagonal dome with clock and steep roof. Above the center circular section is a low wide octagonal cupola. The building was restored in 1991 to 2002. The architect was Holmes & Holmes of Mobile and the contractor was Donnie Evans Construction and Creel Construction. The building houses the Monroe County Heritage Museum.


See:  The architect,  Andrew J Bryan, designed the courthouse in Coffee County and Lee County, in Georgia in Colquitt County, Pulaski County and Stewart County; in Kentucky in Bracken Couinty and Mercer County; in Louisiana in Pointe Coupee Parish;  in Mississippi in Attala County and Simpson County; and in Texas in Rains County. Also in Virginia in Tazewell County.


See:  The contractor M T Lewman and Company of Louisville, Kentucky.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Old Monroe County Courthouse.


See:  The 35th Judicial Circuit includes Conecuh County.


History:  The county was created in 1815 and Claiborne was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a two story frame structure built in Claiborne in 1824 and is still standing as the building was moved to Perdue Hill in 1884. In 1832, the county seat was moved to Monroeville and the second courthouse was built but burned in 1833. The third courthouse was built in 1852. The fourth courthouse was constructed in 1903 to 1904 and is still standing. The fifth and present courthouse was constructed in 1962 to 1963.


Other Old Courthouse


Old Monroe County Courthouse – Perdue Hill



County Courthouse – Monroeville

















Old County Courthouse – Monroeville













Former courtroom

























Photos taken 2009 and 2020