Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Kentucky » Bracken County

Bracken County

Bracken County is named for William Bracken, who was a trapper and frontiersman.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Clermont County, Ohio and Brown County, Ohio

E – Mason County

S – Robertson County and Harrison County

W – Harrison County and Pendleton County


Created:  December 14, 1796                Map of Kentucky highlighting Bracken County

County Seat: 

Augusta      1796 – 1839

Brooksville  1839 – present


County Courthouse –  Brooksville 


Location:  116 West Miami Street / Locust Street

Built:  1915 – 1916

Style:  Beaux Arts

Architect:  Andrew J Bryan of Atlanta, Georgia

Contractor:  Falls City Construction Company of Louisville


Description:  The building faces southeast and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Brooksville. The southeast front has a large portico with four large columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. On the center of the roof is a white colored dome with clock at the top. In the interior, the courtroom is located on the second story. The supervisor was O G Wilson. In 2002 and 2003, a three story addition was constructed on the northwest side. The architect was Architectural Plus Inc. and the contractor was Klenco Company. On the northwest side is the Old Sheriff Residence.


See: The architect,  Andrew J Bryan, designed the courthouses in Alabama in Coffee County, Lee County and Monroe County; in Georgia in Colquitt County, Pulaski County and Stewart County; in Kentucky in Calloway County and Mercer County; in Louisiana in Pointe Coupee Parish;  in Mississippi in Attala County and Simpson County; and in Texas in Rains County.


See:  The contractor, Falls City Construction Company of Louisville, Kentucky, constructed courthouses in Georgia in Appling County, Ben Hill County, Chattooga County, Irwin County, Stephens County and Warren County and in Kentucky in Boyd CountyCalloway County and Mercer County; in North Carolina in Mitchell County; in Oklahoma in Love County.


County Judicial Center –  Brooksville 



Location:  132 West Miami Street / Depot Road

Built:  2011 – 2013 ( under construction )

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Sherman Carter Barnhart of Lexington

Contractor:  Trace Creek Company of Vanceburg.


Description:  The building faces northeast and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Brooksville to the northwest of the courthouse. The northeast front has a large portico with four white columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. The green colored roof is hipped with gable ends on three sides. The building houses the County Circuit Court and County District Court of the 19th Judicial District.


See:  The contractor, Trace Creek Construction Inc. also constructed the justice centers in Fleming CountyLewis County and Robertson County.


See:  The 19th Judicial Circuit includes Bracken County, Fleming County and Mason County.


History:  The county was created in 1796 and Augusta was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a two story brick structure built on the public square in 1796. The courthouse was destroyed by fire on April 20, 1848. In 1839, the county seat was moved to Brooksville but no courthouse was built until the second courthouse was built by Mr. Flora in 1860 to 1862. The courthouse was dismantled in 1913. The third courthouse was constructed in 1915 to 1916. The County Judicial Center was constructed in 2011 to 2013 at a cost of $15,600,000.



County Courthouse – Brooksville 












County Courthouse Plans 1914



Commission Minutes – contractor









County Judicial Center –  Brooksville 













Construction County Judicial Center 2012



Old Sheriff Residence – Brooksville 

Photos taken 2012 and 2018