Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Georgia » Irwin County

Irwin County

Irwin County is named for Jared Irwin, who was a Governor of Georgia.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

– Ben Hill County 

E – Coffee County

S – Berrien County

W – Tift County and Turner County


Created:  December 15, 1818                Map of Georgia highlighting Irwin County

County Seat: 

Irwinville  1818 – 1907

Ocilla       1907 – present


County Courthouse – Ocilla


Location:  301 South Irvin Avenue / West 2nd Street

Built:  1908 – 1910

Style:  Neo-Classical Revival

Architect:  H L Lewman

Contractor:  Falls City Construction Company of Louisville, Kentucky


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Ocilla. The east front has a large portico with four tall columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. There are similar porticos on the north and south sides. On the center of the roof is a dark brown colored cupola with clock and dome at the top. In the interior is a cross floor plan. The County Superior Court courtroom is located on the second story and has a high ceiling and a gallery at the rear. The building houses the County Superior Court, County Juvenile Court, County Probate and County Magistrate Court of the 2nd Judicial District. The building was renovated in 1972. The building was further renovated in 1999 to 2000. 


See:  The architect, H C Lewman also designed and his company, Falls City Construction Company, built the courthouse in Stephens County. The cornerstone of each courthouse shows only Falls City Construction Company.


See:  The contractor Falls City Construction Company of Louisville, Kentucky


See:  The courtroom is similar to the courtroon in Appling County.


See:  The 2nd Judicial District includes Atkinson CountyBaker CountyBerrien CountyBrooks County. Calhoun CountyClay CountyClinch CountyColquitt CountyCook CountyDecatur CountyDougherty CountyEarly County, Echols CountyGrady CountyLanier County, Lowndes County, Miller CountyMitchell County, Quitman CountyRandolph CountySeminole CountyTerrell CountyThomas CountyTift CountyTurner County and Worth County 


History:  The county was created in 1818 and Irwinville was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a story and a half frame structure built by Benjamin Baker in 1839 in Irwinville at a cost of $1500. The second courthouse was built by Loam Brown in 1854 at a cost of $1323. The third courthouse was built in 1883 at a cost of $4080. In 1907, the county seat was moved to Ocilla and the third and present courthouse was constructed in 1908 to 1910.



County Courthouse – Ocilla















County Superior Court courtroom















Photos taken 2013 and 2018