Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Georgia » Coffee County

Coffee County

Coffee County is named for John E Coffee, who was a soldier, state legislator and congressman.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

– Telfair County and Jeff Davis County

E – Bacon County and Ware County

S – Atkinson County

W – Berrien CountyIrwin County and Ben Hill County 


Created:  February 9, 1854                          Map of Georgia highlighting Coffee County

County Seat: 

Douglas  1854 – present


County Courthouse – Douglas 


Location:  101 Peterson Avenue South  / Ward Street

Built:  1939 – 1940

Style:  Stripped Classical

Architect:  William J J Chase

Contractor:  A J Honeycutt Company


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Douglas. The east section of the building has a central recessed entrance flanked by a single column on each side. Stone facing rises to the top of the second story. The lower north and south wings are red colored brick. Horizontal concrete bands run along the roof lines. The center section has stone facing with recessed entrances flanked by a single column on each side. The west section is red colored brick. The roof line is flat. The courtroom is located on the second story.  In 1989 to 1990, a large addition was added on the west side. The architect was Brittain, Thompson, and Bray Inc. and the contractor was Charles E Lewis Construction Company, Inc. On the west side is the old Sheriff Residence.


See:  The architect, William J J Chase also designed courthouses in Carroll CountyCook CountyMitchell CountyOconee CountyPolk CountyRockdale CountySeminole CountyTroup County and Ware County.


See:  The 1st Judicial District includes Appling CountyBacon County, Brantley CountyBulloch CountyBryan CountyCamden CountyCharlton CountyChatham CountyEffingham CountyEvans CountyGlynn CountyJeff Davis CountyJenkins CountyLiberty County, Long CountyMcIntosh CountyPierce CountyScreven CountyTattnall CountyWare County and Wayne County.


History:  The first courthouse was a log structure erected in Douglas between 1855 and 1858. The second courthouse was a wood frame structure built in 1889 and which burned in 1898. The third courthouse was a two story brick structure designed by Andrew J Bryan and constructed in 1900 to 1902 and burned in 1938. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1939 to 1940.



County Courthouse – Douglas















County Superior Court courtroom


















Picture 1889 County Courthouse



Picture 1902 County Courthouse



Old Sheriff Residence





Photos taken 2013 and 2020