Skip to content
Home » US States » A-G » Georgia » Cook County

Cook County

Cook County is named for Philip Cook, who was a former Confederate general, United States representative and Georgia Secretary of State.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

– Tift County

E – Berrien County

S – Lowndes County and Brooks County

W – Colquitt County


Created:  July 30, 1918                          Map of Georgia highlighting Cook County

County Seat: 

Adel 1918 – present


County Courthouse – Adel


Location:  212 North Hutchinson Avenue / 2nd Street

Built:  1938 – 1939

Style:  Stripped Classical

Architect:  William J J Close

Contractor:  Ray M Lee Company


Description:  The building faces west and  is a two story white colored stucco, brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Adel. The west front has a central section at the north end with a stone façade and vertical dividers between the windows. The roof line is flat. The original interior layout of the courthouse was a cross plan with the halls radiating from the center to each entrance. The floor plan in the original portion remains intact with the exception of the south hall which now leads to the new portions. Staircases are on the south and north ends of the hallways and have geometrically-designed, iron balustrades with brass rails and brass newel post caps. Interior features include glazed tile walls in the first floor halls, ornamental acoustical tile ceilings, original wood and glass doors, metal trim, and plaster walls in the offices. The terrazzo flooring has been carpeted. The County Superior Court courtroom is located on the second story. The courtroom has a double door entrance on the north side. It has Philippine mahogany walls, judge’s stand, and jury box. The judge’s chair and the tables are walnut. The two sections of public seating are of red gum. There are paired pilasters and dentils along the walls, as well as pedimented entrances. The floor is carpeted and the ceiling is the original decorative acoustical tile. The building houses the County Superior Court, County Juvenile Court and County Probate Court of the 2nd Judicial Disirict. There are old jail cells on the second floor of the addition. This was a Works Project Administration project. The supervisor was L Silas Moore. The south east wing was added in 1973. The architect was Thompson, Sanders and Dupree and the contractor was Abec, Inc.


See:  The architect, William J J Chase also designed courthouses in Carroll CountyCoffee County, Mitchell CountyOconee CountyPolk CountyRockdale CountySeminole CountyTroup County and Ware County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Cook County Courthouse


See:  The 2nd Judicial District includes Atkinson CountyBaker CountyBerrien CountyBrooks County. Calhoun CountyClay CountyClinch CountyColquitt CountyDecatur CountyDougherty CountyEarly County, Echols CountyGrady CountyIrwin CountyLanier County, Lowndes County, Miller CountyMitchell County, Quitman CountyRandolph CountySeminole CountyTerrell CountyThomas CountyTift CountyTurner County and Worth County 


History:  The county was created in 1918 and Adel was selected as the county seat. The first court met on the second story of the City Hall in Adel. The first courthouse was a two story garage. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1938 to 1939.



County Courthouse – Adel

























Photos taken 2009 and 2020